Completed: MCalls 6996 Cardigan and MCalls 7085 Dress

Here’s another of the ponte dresses I made a few weeks ago, with a cardigan that I just finished over the weekend.  Last winter I made a black ponte dress and wore until it was ratty, so I needed to replace it.

Cardigan and Dress

The pattern I used for the dress is McCalls 7085.  It suggests woven fabric, so I cut a size smaller than I normally would.  I also omitted the zipper and instead of a neck facing, I did a simple turn and stitch finish on the neckline.

2015-11-09_07-58-49

My pattern alterations were minimal.  I did a forward shoulder adjustment and lowered the bust darts a little bit.  I think the hem of the dress could stand to peg in a bit more, but overall I’m happy with it.   It’s a simple basic that I’m sure will get a lot of wear.
Cardigan and Dress

The cardigan is McCall’s 6696.  I sewed view D.

2015-11-09_07-58-36

I’m a little late to the game on this one, as it was a pretty popular pattern a while ago, but I’m glad I finally tried it.  It was super easy to sew and it fits pretty well.  Definitely repeat-worthy.  I’d love to make it up in a sweater knit.

Cardigan and Dress

This is another piece of fabric from the bins at Michael Levine Loft.  It’s a snake print jersey, that I picked up for muslin making.  It’s probably a poly/cotton blend, but I’m not sure.  I honestly didn’t like this fabric at all, but now that it’s sewn up, I’m kinda into it.  I was careful when cutting so that the lighter less snake-like portion of the print would be at the center front, and I think that helps.

Cardigan and Dress

Here’s a couple flat shots.  I sewed this on my machine with a stretch stitch and then serged the seam allowances.  I suppose I could have just serged the entire thing.  But I like the control the sewing machine gives me.  Plus, I have a hard time committing to the serger straight away.  I think it’s easier to unpick sewing machine stitches if I want to make a fit adjustment as I sew.

Cardigan and Dress

Cardigan and Dress

Does anyone else have serger-commitment phobia?  Maybe one of these days I will just force myself to construct a garment directly on it, I’m sure it would save time.

10 thoughts on “Completed: MCalls 6996 Cardigan and MCalls 7085 Dress

  1. I used to dread picking out serger stitches, but now that I’ve found the trick (pull the needle threads) I’ve found that it’s WAYYY faster than picking out sewing machine stitches. Just give it a try on some samples, you’ll see. 🙂

    That cardigan is awesome, and looks great with the dress. Great job! 🙂

  2. Since I have fitting issues and everything needs to be altered, I’m with you on Seeger commitment! Only after a pattern fits me will I serve future versions. And even then, if the fabric has a different amount of stretch I’ll sew it with the sewing machine first.

  3. Perfect little black dress, bet you wear it all the time. I like the cardi too, I don’t really like snake effect either but because its pale at the front it doesn’t jump out at you straight away. Great job.

Leave a Reply

