Completed: Simplicity 2444/McCall6833 Mashup

Ever have a pattern that you like part of, but not the whole thing?  That’s the story of this dress.

Bubbles dress

A few months ago I decided to sew McCall 6833.  But after three failed muslins, I gave up on the bodice.  It just wasn’t working for me.

20150821_202105

However, I liked the skirt.  I also noticed that in addition to the pleated skirt you see on the envelope, the pattern came with pieces for a 1/4 circle skirt lining that looked promising to use on its own.  And so I filed it away in the “to use later” pile and moved on.

I recently came back to the pattern and decided to give it a try with the bodice of Simplicity 2444, which is one of my favorites.  I used the M6833 skirt lining pieces, and I think it worked out really well.  I get the ‘fit and flair’ silhouette that I like, but the skirt is not overly full, and doesn’t blow up in the wind.

bubbles dress

Luckily I didn’t have to make any adjustments to make the skirt piece fit the bodice, the patterns matched up well.  I did lengthen the skirt by a few inches.  Because it was a lining pattern, it was pretty short as drafted.

bubbles dress

The fabric is stretch cotton sateen that I bought from Mood Fabrics in L.A.  I think I’ve said it before, but this is one of my favorite types of fabrics to sew and wear.  I like the body it gives this skirt. I tried to take care with the pattern placement over the front bodice, and I think the back matching looks pretty good.

bubbles dress

Here are some flat shots.

bubbles dress

The bodice darts get lost in the pattern, but they are there.

bubbles dress

bubbles dress

bubbles dress

~The armholes are finished with bias tape, and top stitched down.~

bubbles dress

~I did a small rolled hem so I didn’t have to hand stitch, or struggle to ease in a deeper hem.~

On the last night I was sewing this dress, the power to my house was scheduled to be shut off because the utility company was doing some line work.  I really wanted to wear the dress to work the next day, so it was a race against the clock to finish. I got it done just in time.  But wow, I don’t really like sewing under pressure. It was nice to know I can sew faster, but I think I’ll stick to my usual slow pace. 🙂

bubbles dress

10 thoughts on “Completed: Simplicity 2444/McCall6833 Mashup

  1. Great dress! The pattern matching went “pretty well” – or perfectly!! When you use a stretch cotton with a woven pattern do you have to make any adjustments? I’ve been wanting to use a stretch sateen, but I’m not sure if it would change the fit.

    • I think the stretch fabric does affect the fit a little bit. Ideally you might want make a muslin out of stretch cotton. But I honestly haven’t always done that. For instance, I’ve found that when I’ve sewn a pattern in firm cotton and then try it in sateen, I can get away with just taking in it at the side seams a little bit.

  2. Your pattern matching is perfection! Cute dress too, love that fabric. Have you noticed that your sateens attract linty-goodness like crazy? Or is that because I’ve only ever bought the cheap stuff?

    • Thanks. Ya, I get the lint on some of them but not all. The black fabric I used for the waistband on my recent Emery hack is really bad. But then this black print is okay.

  3. Lovely dress really professional for work. Very impressed with your pattern matching. You could probably wear your dress for nearly every occasion, a win!

  4. Fantastic dress! I love sewing with…and wearing cotton sateen too. I think it is the perfect fabric. Your pattern matching is spot on…ha. Another great dress Marrie!

Leave a Reply

