Completed: Another Vogue 8379

After the success of my first Vogue 8379, I decided to make another.

Wrap 2

I made a couple of minor changes this time.  I went with the short sleeve version, and then shortened the sleeves an extra couple of inches.  I also lengthened the bodice by 1/2″. On my last dress, I thought the length was okay.  But after wearing it a few times, I decided it would be more comfortable if it was longer.  I was right, now the ties rest in a more natural spot.

Wrap 2

The fabric is an ITY knit that I ordered online a long time ago.   It sat in my stash because I wasn’t sure about the print.  It’s a brighter fabric than I normally choose.  But I think it pairs nicely with this pattern.

I’m particularly happy with how I got the colors to match up along the wrap side.

Wrap 2

And no gaping, yay!

Wrap 2

Here’s the inside.

Vogue 8379

Vogue 8379

I omitted the facings again. (I just turned the seam allowances under and top stitched them down.)

Vogue 8379

I wanted to make sure the ties were securely attached, so I stitched around in a rectangle. (Last time I only had one line of stitching holding the ties on and they feel a bit wobbly.  I need to go back and reinforce them.)

Vogue 8379Vogue 8379

I’m also happy to report that I did a better job finishing the seam with the tie opening this time around.  🙂

Vogue 8379

I seriously could make several more of these dresses (and maybe I will)!

Wrap 2

13 thoughts on “Completed: Another Vogue 8379

  1. Very nice precise sewing. Fits you well. Your dress is making me think hard about adding this pattern to my fall sewing list.

  2. This dress is so nice! It fits you perfectly, of course! I love the colors even though it is a bit brighter then you usually wear. It looks great on you! It makes me want to practice with knits more often because I love wrap dresses.

  3. Oh this is so lovely. I love the bright fabric and completely understand about the fit changes. I often need to add a 1/2″ to the bodice length of patterns. I can’t wait to see more.

Leave a Reply

