Pattern Hacking and Mashing

One night about three months ago I was bored and frustrated with a failed muslin, so I started thinking about hacking a pattern that already works for me.  You might remember this picture if you follow me on Instagram.  Armed with some sticky tape and a few I ideas, I played around until I had some design lines I liked.   The line at the shoulder in particular stood out to me.  
IMG_20150330_221411

Here’s the final result:

contrast shoulder Emery

The bodice is based on the Emery Dress.  I eliminated the shoulder seam and added a contrast shoulder piece. I also added a waistband.
Shoulder Contrast Emery

The skirt is the pencil skirt from Gertie’s first book.  Surprisingly, the skirt pattern pieces matched up to my bodice pieces really well.  Got lucky there.  🙂 contrast shoulder Emery

The fabric is a stretch cotton sateen that I bought at B&J Fabrics in NYC last fall.  I found B&J to be a bit pricey for me, so I only got this one piece of fabric there.  However, I did appreciate how clean and nicely organized the store was.  The solid black is from somewhere online.  (I don’t remember where.  I tend to remember all of my in-person fabric shopping experiences, but online is like a black hole.)

Here’s a closer look at the shoulder detail.
shoulder contrast Emerycontrast shoulder Emery

And the inside.  Nothing to fancy this time around.
Shoulder Contrast EmeryShoulder Contrast Emery
Shoulder Contrast Emery

I’m really happy with this dress, it’s great for work and is pretty comfy because of the slight stretch in the fabric.  One thing I would do differently next time is to add some light interfacing to the waistband.  It’s not too apparent here, but the waistband gets a bit saggy looking after wearing it for a while. contrast shoulder Emery
I’ve got another hack or two up my sleeve, hope to get to those soon!

17 thoughts on “Pattern Hacking and Mashing

  1. I smiled when I saw this post in my blog roll. Love the dress hack! It’s so pretty! But a warning, the pattern hacking becomes addictive when you realize the myriad of possibilities now available to you!

  2. This dress looks amazing! I love the fabric and black contrast pieces. I recently did a pattern hack using three different patterns that fit me best and I loved how it turned out.

    I just went to B&Js website and *gulp*, yikes, even the sale prices are out of my comfort zone. Reminds me of when I went to Britex for the first time and thought, “where’s the stuff I can afford?”

Leave a Reply

