Completed: Simplicity 1541and McCall 6988

Over the holidays, we met up with my sister for a ski trip.  I also brought along my sewing machine, a handful of patterns, and some muslin so I could work on fitting a few things to her. Since I mostly sew only for myself, it was a good challenge to try fitting someone else.

When I got home, I set to work on a couple of the final garments. First I sewed this skirt:
Simplicity 0503

It’s Simplicity 1541. It’s one of the AmazingFit patterns, and I like that includes options for ‘slim/average’ and ‘curvy.’
Simplicity 0503
Simplicity 0503

The front has princess seams and the back is darted. I sewed the ‘curvy’ version, so the back has two darts.  This one fit really well out of the envelope.  The only change I made was to taper the side seams a little bit below the hip level.
Simplicity 0503

The fabric is a medium weight cotton that I purchased from Michael Levine a while back. (I’ve also made myself a dress out of this, and will blog that soon.)  It’s lined with cream Bemberg rayon.

Simplicity 0503

I followed the zipper/lining method from this free Craftsy course.  It worked perfectly and the zipper and lining was sewn completely by machine.
Simplicity 0503

Next I sewed this dress:

McCall 6988

Please ignore the tight fit on my dress form.  It will fit her with more ease than shown here.  I just didn’t bother adjusting my form down to her measurements.

McCall 6988

The pattern is McCall 6988. This pattern has multiple cup sizes, which was helpful.

McCall 6988

I modified the pattern by raising the armholes slightly, reducing the sleeve cap ease, and sewing the sleeves in flat.  I also lengthened the sleeves, per my sister’s preference.
McCall 6988

And I redrafted the facings. As drafted, the facing goes down around the armholes, but I found that added too much bulk. So I went with a neck facing only.
McCall 6988
McCall 6988

The main fabric is a ponte that I ordered online somewhere (I think FabricMart), and I got the lace from Metro Textile when I was in NYC. I purchased these months apart, and just got lucky that they matched so well!

McCall 6988

It was my sister’s idea to add lace to the yoke. I love how it turned out, and want to make one for myself.

McCall 6988

Long distance sewing is a little stressful because there’s not a chance to fit as you sew the final garment.  These are off in the mail now, and hopefully everything works out!

12 thoughts on “Completed: Simplicity 1541and McCall 6988

  1. These are both great! I love the lining on the skirt…it’s a fantastic finish. Also the lace embellishment was inspired on the dress. Definitely make another one for yourself!

  2. You are a kind sister! Both the skirt and the dress look great. I hope that they fit her the way she hoped. I sometimes wonder if I could fit another person. I think it would be a challenge!

  3. Pingback: Completed: McCall 2401 | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

