Completed: Nurmilintu Scarf

My knitting output has really slowed, mostly due to the fact that I don’t knit it as often I as I used to.  So I’m kind of excited to have a finished knitting project to share.
Scarf

This is the Nurmilintu scarf.  It’s a free pattern, available on Ravelry.
Scarf

This is a pretty easy lace pattern.  It’s knit entirely in garter stitch, so there’s no purling.  The nice thing about this is that the scarf ends up reversible.

Scarf
Scarf

The pattern calls for sock weight yarn.  But I used lace weight held double. It’s Knit Picks shadow lace yarn in the Opal Heather colorway.  I’ve had this yarn in my stash for maybe 3 years, or more.

Scarf

In my pre-sewing days, I used to knit lace all the time.  So it was nice to go back and do a little lace knitting again.

Scarf

14 thoughts on “Completed: Nurmilintu Scarf

  1. This scarf is so pretty! I just started to learn how to knit and I love the look of lace projects. This one doesn’t look too overly complicated, so I think I’ll have to try it. What does “held double” mean in reference to using lace weight yarn?

    • Instead of using one ball of sock (or fingering) weight yarn, I used 2 balls of lace weight yarn, and knitted from both balls at the same time, holding the strands together like they were one. Two strands of lace yarn is about the same thickness as a single strand of fingering yarn.
      For a first lace project, I’d probably suggest using just a single strand of fingering yarn though. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Hand Dyed Nurmilintu | Clipped Curves

Leave a Reply

