Tribute August: McCall 2401

For Tribute August, I wanted to create a dress inspired by one of my favorite bloggers, Carolyn from Diary of a Sewing Fanatic.  I love the beautiful garments she creates for herself, and in particular her lovely, work appropriate sheath dresses. A sheath dress has been on my sewing list for a long time.  So I finally made one.
LWD

The pattern I used is McCall 2401.

McCall 2401

The pattern envelope is pretty uninspiring, but I think this pattern is really versatile and will work with a lot of different fabrics.  (Hopefully one day this will become a TNT.)

LWD

Although I made a muslin, I still have some fit issues with the shoulder/sleeve area to work out for next time.  There’s a wrinkle of extra fabric running from the shoulder to the bust.  (I did a narrow shoulder adjustment, but I don’t think it was big enough.)

LWD

And the sleeves wrinkle at the back.  I think I just need to rotate the sleeve in the armhole to fix this.
LWD

For this dress, I’ll just toss on a cardigan, and ignore the problems.  🙂
LWD

The fabric is a linen/rayon blend I got from The Fabric Store in LA.  It doesn’t come through in the pics very well, but the fabric has a slight sheen to it that is really pretty.
LWD
LWD

I underlined the entire dress with light cotton.  I was hoping this would help with the wrinkle factor.  I think silk organza would have been a better choice, but I find organza terribly itchy.  So I went with the cotton.  The dress is very comfortable, even if the hem is annoyingly wrinkly.

LWD

LWD

Here’s a few flat/inside shots.

LWD
LWD

LWD

Hand picked lapped zipper.

LWDLWD

LWD

Facings finished with Bemberg bias strips.

This dress will also be my last official summer garment.  Even though the weather is still warm here, I’m ready for fall and fall sewing!
LWD

15 thoughts on “Tribute August: McCall 2401

  1. I am so honored that my sheath dresses inspired you to make such a wonderful dress! Can I tell you that I experienced some of those same fit challenges when I first started working with my TNT dress pattern and that with each successive garment I altered the pattern to fix the fit ending up with the pattern I use today. Again thank you so much for being inspired by my dresses and featuring your awesome creation during Tribute August!

  2. What a wonderful tribute to Carolyn (and a good choice for inspiration). The dress is beautiful and your zipper is particularly lovely! I need to copy your great embroidered initial “tag”.

  3. Pingback: Completed: McCall 2401 | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

