Completed: The Bird Dress (Simplicity 2444)

My last dress might not have turned out so well, but I’ve forgotten all about that because I love this one!  Seriously love it.  It may be one of my favorite things I’ve made.

Bird Dress

I think what makes this dress is the fabric.  It’s 100% cotton and I purchased it at The Fabric Store during the LA Sewist meetup.

Bird dress

To be honest, when I picked it out I didn’t even notice that it it had birds on it!  I thought it was just a neat geometric print.  Once I realized it was birds though, I liked it even more!

Bird dress

It’s not obvious from the pictures, but in addition to the birds, the fabric has a really cool rippled texture.  It’s like 3D fabric.  Some spots are thick and others very thin, to the point where it’s a little sheer.

Bird dress

After a lot of deliberation, I decided to pair the fabric with Simplicity 2444.  I thought the full skirt would really let the birds shine.

Bird dress

I’ve sewn this pattern before.  Even so, I had to re-muslin the bodice because my last fabric was a stretch cotton, and I knew I’d need more ease for this stable bird fabric.  I’m glad I took the time to do it, now I’ll be ready to sew S2444 in any fabric.

Bird dress
Bird dress

One thing I changed this time was to cut the front skirt on the fold, rather than have a seam down the front.  I like this so much better.  The skirt also hangs nicer and flows better when I walk.  Oh, and it’s got pockets!

Bird dress

I didn’t try to match the pattern across the back, but it turned out pretty good!  Happy accident, there.  🙂

Bird dress

Here’s the dress flat:

Bird Dress Details

I hand-picked the lapped zipper.

Bird Dress Details

Onto the inside.  I underlined the bodice with a light cotton, and left the skirt unlined.

Bird Dress Details
Bird Dress Details

The armholes are finished with bias strips cut from bemberg rayon.  It’s kind of a pain to make bias tape with this stuff, but I love that it doesn’t add any bulk.

Bird Dress Details

I also used the bemberg bias strips to finish the edge of my facings, and on the hem.

Bird Dress Details
Bird Dress Details

I didn’t have a matching blue belt so I paired it with mint green and a blue sweater to wear to work yesterday.  Next time I might try red accessories.

Bird dress

It feels great to have a sewing win after my last disappointment.   And really, how can I not be happy when I’ve got a flock of birds cascading down my dress?

Bird dress
Next up, I’ve got something in store for Tribute Month. . . .

 

21 thoughts on “Completed: The Bird Dress (Simplicity 2444)

  1. Looks fantastic! And now I’m kicking myself for forgetting to look for 2444 when all the Simplicity patterns were on sale for $.99 at my local store.

  2. This is so beautiful! I love the diagonal movement of the birds from big to small… it’s such an organic design!

  3. I think I love everything you make. Seriously. And why didn’t I grab some of that fabric too?!?! It’s adorable!

  4. I LOVE this dress!! Oh my gosh! 2444 is my fave pattern and your fabric is perfect. This pattern never seems to disappoint and neither do you Marrie. Beautiful dress.

Leave a Reply

