Completed: Emery #??

I can’t stop.  Last weekend I cut out two more Emery dresses.  Here’s the first one I finished:

Green Emery

I’m not sure how many Emerys I’ve made at this point, I’ve lost count.  I think I return to this pattern repeatedly because I know it works for me, and sometimes (okay, a lot of the time) I just want to sew without all the effort of fitting.

Green Emery

On this version I lowered the neckline a little bit and used a different skirt.  The skirt is from Simplicity 1803, but I pleated it instead of doing gathers.

Green Emery

Green Emery

The fabric is rayon challis, which has become my favorite summer fabric.  I ordered this particular one from Fabric.com, but I don’t think its available any longer.

Green Emery

Green Emery Details

I lined the bodice with Kaufman lawn.  I really like the challis/cotton lining combo, it gives the challis just a bit of structure but stays nice and cool.

Green Emery Details

Green Emery Details

I also used matching serger thread on this project. Lately I’ve been branching out and using colors other than black and white. 🙂

Green Emery Details

When I was checking the placement of the pleats, I tied a piece of quilt binding around my waist as make-shift belt.  I kind of liked the look, so I stitched the ends and made it an official belt.

Green Emery Details

Green Emery

Now that I’ve got another Emery in my closet, I’m think I’m ready for the One Week One Pattern challenge in September!

Green Emery

27 thoughts on “Completed: Emery #??

  1. This pattern was so made for you. I was really close to buying this the other day but instead decided to modify my Colette Peony pattern instead, wish me luck!!

  2. Your garments always look beautiful, inside and out! I’ve read nothing but raves about the Emery bodice, it seems like a good place to start for a basic darted bodice…I should probably just buy it. 🙂

  3. I’m glad that you found a pattern that you love and can make again and again. I think everyone needs a TNT pattern for those days when you want an easy and familiar pattern to make 🙂

  4. This is lovely! I hear you on the ease of sewing the Emery. I’ve been battling a fiddly collar and all sorts of other problems on a 1950s blouse pattern, and I think I’m going to cut out a new Emery tonight just to detox!

  5. Ohh it looks beautiful. I totally get your love of the Emery dress – and your love of making multiples of great patterns. 😀
    I really like the little details, matching bow belt, embroidered initial…

Leave a Reply

