Completed: Miette Skirt

A couple weeks ago I decided to try out the Miette skirt pattern from Tilly. I was planning a trip to visit family in my hometown, and wanted to whip up a quick skirt to fill a void in my casual wardrobe.  This little skirt was perfect – it was quick and easy to sew!  Unfortunately, I didn’t end up getting to wear it on my trip, the temps were too cool for skirts or shorts.

Miette

If you’re wondering, that bandage on my arm is from donating blood. I donate about every 8 weeks. If you’ve ever thought about being a blood or organ donor, I encourage you to look into it.  It’s a simple way to make a big difference in the life of someone else.  Plus you get cookies after donating, always a bonus!  🙂

Fitting this skirt was a breeze, I just picked my size based on my waist measurement, and that was it.  I did shorten it by a few inches though.
Miette

The fabric I used is the same 50/50 linen rayon blend that I used for my Thai fisherman pants.  I like that it gives the skirt a little more drape, and is not as A-line, as say a crisper fabric would be.
MietteMiette

I love the way it wraps in the back. And it really does feel secure from flashing everyone.
Miette

Here’s how it looks unwrapped, from the inside.  I finished the seams with my serger, but french seams would have been nice too.
Miette Skirt

It’s funny, I wear dresses or skirts to work about 90% of the time, but when it comes to evenings or weekends, I almost never do.  I think that by adding a few casual skirts to the mix, that might change.
Miette Skirt
Miette Skirt

Anyway, I can totally see making this up in all different colors.  I think it’s also a good pattern to sew for others (if you are into that kind of unselfish sewing) because the fitting is so easy.  I also think this would be a great skirt to pair with the Nettie bodysuit.  In fact, I tried to do that, but about half way through sewing my Nettie, I realized it wasn’t going to fit my shoulders.  So I abandoned that one, and plan to cut some more fabric and try again.

Miette

Next up, I made some pants!  Will share soon.  🙂

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Completed: Miette Skirt

  1. Beautiful skirt! I wasn’t originally tempted to make this one, but after seeing it on others I’m slowly being convinced I need one too!! This would be beautiful in a Robert Kaufman linen / denim, for a weekend casual look. 🙂

  2. That’s such a perfect weekend skirt! I love it!

    I would like to donate blood, but I think that I have to wait a year after being tattooed and I never seem to make it that long… 😦

  3. Pingback: Completed: Another Miette | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

