LA Meet Up

Last weekend I had the most amazing time at the LA Blogger Meet up! It was a wonderful afternoon of meeting friends, having lunch, and of course fabric shopping with about 40 lovely southern California ladies. I meant to take pictures, I really did. But it just didn’t happen. 😦

Oh well, I can show you the treasure I came home with though. There was an awesome fabric and pattern swap, and I came away with these:

20140614_221313

I’m really excited about the Sewaholic Minoru jacket pattern, and that vintage number in the center. I also really like the fabric, it’s an ITY knit (I think). I’m planning to try a wrap dress with it. I’m not sure who brought the things I picked up, but a sincere thank you to you!

The meetup was at The Fabric Store, which was a new-to-me shop. All I can say is I love it, and I plan to go back whenever I’m in LA. I found so many beautiful fabrics, it was hard to narrow my final selection, and I still ended up with more than I really need. Oops. 🙂

20140614_221603

After the meetup, I was planning to drive straight home. But as I was headed toward the freeway, I decided at the last minute to cruise over to the fashion district, and to Michael Levine in particular. My little detour paid off. I went to the Levine Loft, and it was packed full of great finds. Every box yielded something I wanted to take home.

20140614_162319

In the end, I came away with two more bags of fabric. Another oops. 🙂

20140614_221137

I guess now I need to get busy making things. Over the past month, I’ve been doing a lot of traveling, and not so much sewing.  But I do have a couple finished projects that I haven’t had time to blog about.  So more on those soon!

Thanks again to ladies who organized the meetup, Erin, Kathy, Laurie and Jill. It was so much fun, I’m looking forward to next year already! 🙂

 

10 thoughts on “LA Meet Up

  1. I’m so glad you had fun! Isn’t The Fabric Store wonderful? I love it there. And I never feel guilty shopping at the Loft since it’s so cheap!!

  2. It was a great day wasn’t it! I see that black and white bird print in your TFS pile. Love all the black and white! I hit a few shops in downtown LA also but did not get to the loft. Next time for sure though! Looking forward to seeing all the great stuff you make!

  3. I don’t think we got a chance to meet this weekend, but I am glad that fabric has a new home. 🙂
    I can’t wait to see what you make with it.

  4. Thank you for hanging out with me! I was sooooo excited to meet you, ask my husband. I kept talking about how I wanted to meet you and Bethany!

  5. Pingback: Completed: The Bird Dress (Simplicity 2444) | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

