Completed: Border Print Emery

The temps have been rising lately, which has me dreaming of light weight summer dresses. So when I found this border print rayon challis on the clearance table at Joann’s, I wanted to sew it up right away.  Enter my reliable Emery Dress pattern, and I had a new dress in no time.

Border Emery

I’ve made this pattern several times before, so I don’t have a lot to add about the construction.

Border Emery

As always, this pattern was a pleasure to sew.

border emery

And of course, yay for pockets!

Border Emery

I did try a new technique this time.   Since I made this sleeveless, I tried the method of clean finishing the armholes that was recently demonstrated by Sarai at Colette Patterns.  (The video shows knit fabric being used, but it worked just fine for woven fabric too.)  This method felt awkward the first time through, but it really does work!

IMGP9790

Here’s a little better look at the fabric, I really like the print.  And I think my attempt at pattern matching the back bodice turned out pretty good.

IMGP9782 IMGP9785

I lined the bodice with cotton lawn, instead of Bemberg (shocking, right?)  I wanted to try out a cotton lining and see how it wears.

IMGP9791 IMGP9787

Finally, here’s a swishy shot.  Love this rayon, it’s so floaty and summery!

Border Emery

So what are you sewing in anticipation of summer?

12 thoughts on “Completed: Border Print Emery

  1. What a lovely dress! I love the border print! I have a couple of rayon challis in my stash, that I’ve been meaning to make. I have to try the method that Sarai mentioned. I think it’s a cleaner finish that how I normally make sleeveless dresses.

  2. Pingback: Completed: Another . . . Emery | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

