Sew Dolly Clacket: Simplicity 2444

Here’s my contribution to Sew Dolly Clackett.  Whew…I am truly getting this in at the last minute (maybe 20 minutes to spare?), so I will try to keep this brief.
Simplicity 2444
To honor Roisin’s impecable style, I chose Simplicity 2444, and a bright (but sadly not novelty) print.  The fabric is a stretch cotton that I found at a local shop.
Simplicity 2444
This pattern deserves all the hype it gets, I love it!  I did have to add some darts to the back neck to get rid of some gaping, but that’s about the only change I made.
Simplicity 2444
Initially, I was going to swap the skirt for a pencil skirt, but after draping the fabric on my dress form, I decided to go with the full skirt.  So glad I did!  This dress makes me feel happy and girly.
Simplicity 2444
I tried to take pics outside my front door in true Dolly Clacket style, but the sun was not cooperating.  So this was as best as I could get.
Simplicity 2444

Here are some detail shots. I’m really loving the pleats on the skirt and the interesting waist darts.
Simplicity 2444
Simplicity 2444
Unlike most my dresses, this one is not lined.
Simplicity 2444
Simplicity 2444
I used self-made bias tape to finish the facing edge and the armholes.
Simplicity 2444
I also put in my first machine-sewn lapped zipper! Turned out pretty good, I think.
Simplicity 2444
Simplicity 2444
I also went with a quick rolled hem because the fabric was not taking my hand stitches very well.
Simplicity 2444
Thanks to Sarah for organizing this sew along, it’s been great fun to watch all the pretty dresses popping up!  And of course, congratulations to Roisin and Nic!
Simplicity 2444

19 thoughts on “Sew Dolly Clacket: Simplicity 2444

  1. My all time favorite pattern!! When you said that this dress made you feel “happy and girly” I could really relate. All my 2444’s make me feel this way. Your print is so fun and pretty!

  2. This is really lovely dress, and your fabric is to die for! I have to try this pattern after hearing so many rave reviews. I love how your lapped zipper is looking. I might have to give that a try too!

  3. If that fabric was sold in SLO I would go buy it tomorrow morning! I have no shame, I want to copy you!

  4. I love your 2444,, I too have made a blue and white spotted number with the cape collar and although I love it,, next time I’m going to try your darts in the back neck as mine is a bit “gapey” were they tricky to do to get it right? Xx

    • Not at all, I just pinched out the extra fabric and sewed a dart where the extra fabric was. I placed the darts about 3.5 inches from the center back, and they are approximately 5 inches long.

  5. Pingback: Completed: The Bird Dress (Simplicity 2444) | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

