Completed: Spotty Licorice Dress

Hope everyone is enjoying a relaxing Easter weekend!  I’ve been sewing, sewing, and sewing…exactly what I wanted to do!

After making the trench coat for my sister, I was ready for a simpler project.  I went for making another Licorice dress from Colette Patterns.  I’ve made this dress a bunch of times already (here, here, and here).  I wear my animal print version so often that it’s staring to show some wear and tear, so it was a good time to revisit the pattern.

Spotty Licorice
Spotty Licorice

The fabric is rayon challis that I ordered from somewhere on the internet (it’s been too long, and I can’t remember now).  I love the drape and fluidity of challis.  In fact, I have another challis dress cut and waiting to be sewn!

Spotty Licorice

Here are some close ups that show the print better.
Spotty Licorice
Spotty Licorice

There’s not too much new to say about the construction.  I moved the zipper to the side, drafted my own facings, and lined it with Bemberg rayon.
Licorice
Licorice
Licorice

Licorice

Licorice

This will be a comfortable and cool dress to wear this summer.  But the wind was chilly when I was trying to take photos.
Spotty Licorice

So this is how I wore it to work, without the belt and a long sweater.  So comfy!
Spotty Licorice

13 thoughts on “Completed: Spotty Licorice Dress

  1. I love it! I have the Colette book as well, before seeing your Licorice dress I never considered it. It’s probably because of the sleeves. I might have to reconsider the Licorice dress! I like this more than the Laurel because it is more fitted than the Laurel.

  2. The way you do your facing and lining is really smart. I’d love to know how! Great choice of fabric, non-floral prints are so hard to find but they are my favourites.

  3. wow! that’s a beautiful dress! and I love love love the fabric, it’s a pity you don’t remember where you got it from 🙂
    As one of the previous commenters said, I’m didn’t really like the Liquorice because of the huge sleeves..

  4. Pingback: Simplcity 1609: Royal Blue Fit and Finish | Clipped Curves

Leave a Reply

