Completed: The Gift Coat (aka Robson Trench Coat)

I’ll freely admit that I’m a selfish sewer.  But on occasion, I’ll make something for someone, like my latest make – this Robson trench coat.  I made this for my sister’s birthday after she saw my trench and liked it.

MJB Trench Coat

Since she had tried my coat on, I knew this was going to fit her without needing any major alterations.  I cut a size 4, but shaved about 1/4 inch off all the princess seams, since she is a little smaller than me. I also narrowed the flair at the bottom. Because she is petite, I thought a slimmer silhouette would be more flattering.

MJB Trench Coat

I made two other changes worth noting.  First, I took a wedge out of the front flaps to make them narrower.  On my coat, the flaps won’t lie flat and it drives me nuts.  So I pinched out the excess on my coat and transferred it to the pattern piece.  This is what the alteration looks like.  I was careful not to change the top or the sides of the flap.  I wanted to be sure that it would still match at the shoulder, armhole, and neck line.

Untitled

It worked and the flaps now lie perfectly!

MJB Trench Coat

Second, I lined the sleeves.  This makes it easier to take the coat on and off.  I took some pics of my process, so expect a tutorial on this soon.

MJB Trench Coat
MJB Trench Coat

The fabric is a cotton twill that I purchased from organic cotton plus.  I’m impressed with the quality and would order from them again.  I used Bemberg rayon for the sleeve lining and black packaged bias tape to finish the seams.

MJB Trench Coat
MJB Trench Coat
MJB Trench Coat

Also picked up an interesting black and white printed cotton for the back facing, and used it under the flaps as well.
MJB Trench Coat
MJB Trench Coat
MJB Trench Coat

Although this pattern has a lot of pieces, it’s not too difficult.  I love all details.

MJB Trench Coat
MJB Trench Coat
MJB Trench Coat

I was so pleased with how this coat turned out, I really wanted to keep it for myself!
MJB Trench Coat

Good thing for my sis, I had already embroidered her initials on the back facing before I realized I wanted to keep it.  🙂  So I had to send it to her!  Happy Birthday, MJB!  🙂
MJB Trench Coat

 

22 thoughts on “Completed: The Gift Coat (aka Robson Trench Coat)

  1. Just perfect! And thank you so much for all the little extra tips – I’m still at the beginning stages of my coat, so I will take these into consideration! Interesting too: I’m using that same cotton twill from Organic Cotton Plus! (in blue) I was also very impressed with the quality.

  2. This is such a beautiful coat – what a great gift! I love the details you added. I’d bought some Bemberg rayon to line my Robson sleeves too since I have an unlined RTW coat that is such a pain to put on and take off. I’m very interested in the tutorial. Hmmm, I didn’t bother with the front flaps on my muslin, but now I’m wondering about the wedge you took out. I think I have enough fabric to recut if I need. On a completely unrelated note, I have to thank you for your ShedQuarters idea of plugging the iron into the wall switch outlet. I used to be just about ready to fall asleep thinking ‘Did I turn that iron off??’. No more – I know if the light’s off, the iron is off!

  3. Wow, this is BEAUTIFUL! You are so talented and your sister is so lucky to receive such a gorgeous trench! I will be eagerly awaiting a tutorial on lining the sleeves.

  4. You are an amazing sister! This coat is beautiful and it fits you really well. If I were you, I would have kept it. I guess it’s a good thing that you up her initials on the trench! 😉 I have a dress and a half to make my sister and I haven’t started/finished it because I’m a selfish seamstress.

    I love the alterations you made, I’d have to keep that in mind when I make the trench.

  5. Pingback: Tutorial: Add a Sleeve Lining to the Robson Trench Coat | Purls and Pleats

  6. Pingback: Completed: Spotty Licorice Dress | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

