More DIY Ideas

In addition to the thread rack I made, there are a couple of other DIY projects I completed for Shedquarters that I thought I’d share. The first is the black and white sewing machine “art” in this photo:

Shed Studio

Basically, this is just a canvas from the art store with the sewing machine silhouette spray painted onto it.  Super easy!

Shed Studio

The sewing machine is a free graphic that you can find here.  I blew it up and printed it out, then carefully cut it out with an exacto knife to make a stencil.  I taped my stencil to the canvas, and spray painted it.

Picture DIY

I could have done a better job taping it down, and should have used heavier paper for the stencil, because I got some paint flare around the edges.  But I’m okay with it.  Reminds me that my sewing doesn’t need to be perfect!

Picture DIY

My other project also involved a stencil and spray paint.  I made a monogramed door mat for Shedquarters.  I got the idea here.

Untitled

You may recognize the D, it’s the same one I embroider on my garments as a label.  (In case you are wondering why the D, my first name starts with a D. 🙂 )

I downloaded the letter template from this site, and followed the same steps as with the sewing machine picture.  I got my plain rug at IKEA.

IMGP8318

So there you go, get some spray paint and make a stencil . . . it’s a cheap and easy way to make all kinds of custom projects.  🙂Picture DIY

5 thoughts on “More DIY Ideas

Leave a Reply

