Happy New Year – Top 5

Now that 2014 is officially here, I thought I’d take a moment to look back at my sewing goals from last year and see how I did.
Top 5 of 2013 - An Annual Blog Series

Last year I said: “I’d like to 1) sew a jacket; 2) learn how to use a rotary cutter; 3) take another sewing class; 4) make something with knit fabric; and 5) a surprise! (Hint, it involves building, like with wood and nails and all that. More to come soon, I promise.)”

I’m happy to say that accomplished all five! I knocked out #1 and #3 at one time by enrolling in a tailoring class and making my lined tailored jacket.
Jacket Details

In April, I satisfied goal #2 when I got my first rotary cutter and cutting mat. Cutting out is still my least favorite part of sewing, but at least I find it tolerable now.
IMGP5200

I took on knit fabrics, and met goal #4 by making a swimsuit, and a ponte knit dress.
IMGP7326
Simplicity 1754

And goal #5 was the biggie – Shedquarters! It took us the whole year, but we got it done. 🙂 Every time I walk in here I’m still amazed that it’s done and that it’s mine.
Shed Studio

Now, looking forward to 2014, my sewing-related goals are:
1) Make a knit top or t-shirt. This is a huge hole in my handmade wardrobe that I’d like to start to fill.
2) Complete the Craftsy Jean-ius course.
3) Sew up the super special wool that I bought in L.A. last summer.
4) Try sewing a quilt.
5) Work on balancing sewing time and exercise time. This is a recurring struggle for me, as I’d always rather be sewing!

I hope everyone has a wonderful New Years!

7 thoughts on “Happy New Year – Top 5

  1. That jacket is so perfect, I hate you !

    I totally know what you mean about the sewing/exercise time war!! My first three months of sewing I completely swapped exercise for sewing and felt terrible for it, I’m still making up for it now. A balance needs to be struck.

  2. Wow – that jacket looks fantastic! Congrats on meeting your goals! I’ve been thinking of getting another rotary cutter – I’ve got a Gingher rotary cutter, which feel great in my hand and has a lot of control but the blades get dull too fast and they’re expensive. What size is your Olfa?

  3. Pingback: Year End | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

