Completed: Emery Dress #3

I just can’t stop making Emery dresses!  This is my third one, finished just in time for the official Emery Sew Along hosted by Christine Haynes.

Emery #3

This time I pleated the skirt, instead of gathering it.  I like the effect, and it lies very flat at the waist.  Unfortunately, because of the busy print, the pleats don’t show up well in the pictures.  Also my camera was being fussy today, and didn’t want to focus, so that didn’t help. 😦

Emery #3

Emery #3 Details

The fabric I used is a very light cotton voile, that I found online at Fabric Mart.  It’s pretty  sheer, so I underlined the whole dress (except the sleeves) with black cotton batiste.  The bodice is also lined with Bemberg rayon.

Emery #3 Details

Emery #3 Details

Emery #3 Details

Emery #3 Details

I don’t really have much else to say about this pattern that I haven’t already covered in round one or two, other than to repeat that it’s awesome!  🙂

Emery #3

7 thoughts on “Completed: Emery Dress #3

  1. Beautiful dress, in beautiful surroundings! I’m really looking forward to trying this pattern out in the near future. I was saving it until after my fitting class, because I love this design so much, I really want to do it justice. I have a lot of lawns and voiles in my stash that I hope to use with this pattern, so I’m glad to see it works well with these lighter fabrics and underlining, which is how I was planning on approaching it. And I can tell that the pleats really do give it a sleeker look.

Leave a Reply

