Shedquarters: Constructing a Storage Shed Studio

I’ve mentioned it briefly before, but with construction now complete, I think it’s finally time to tell you about my new sewing space — Shedquarters!!

Aviary_2013_11_28_02_47_11

Before I show all the finished details, I thought I’d start from the beginning.

Almost a year ago (on Christmas to be precise) we decided to build a small shed-studio in our backyard.  My sewing was taking over the spare room in our tiny two bedroom house, and we had been wanting to do something with our backyard anyway.  I’d seen a couple shed-offices online and really loved the idea.  We also decided that we would cut a new door into our house and connect the shed to the house with a deck.  (The new door was necessary because our backyard is actually a side yard, and we didn’t have a door on that side of the house.)

After months of planning, we broke ground over the summer.  We decided to do as much of the work ourselves as we felt competent to handle.

2013-07-27 09.52.52

The first step was clearing the area and laying a rock foundation.  This may seem like a simple project, but it was back breaking work to shovel 4,000 pounds of rock!

IMGP7109

Once the foundation was down, our builders came in and the shed went up in less than 2 weeks!  It was amazing to watch.  Every night I would get home from work and some major  progress would be made.  The guys who worked for us were wonderful, and did an amazing job.  I really think this shed is built better than my house.  🙂  The shed is fully insulated, so it will stay warm in the winter and cool in the summer.  We also ran electricity out to it.

2013-08-13 19.33.48

Shedquarters

2013-08-13 19.35.13

The window that became a new door

IMGP7295

IMGP7296

Untitled

When our builders left, we still had a lot of work to do.   We had them leave the inside pretty rough – since we felt we could finish it off ourselves.

2013-08-25 09.08.00

We painted the exterior.

Untitled

Untitled

No tape was used in the painting of this trim.

Untitled

I tried mudding and taping the drywall, but quickly realized I sucked at it.  So we called in a professional.  (Best decision ever. Don’t underestimate how hard drywallers work!)

2013-08-25 09.05.05

I painted the interior.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

My husband laid the floor and finished all the window trim and baseboards. (Best man ever!)

20131116_155729

20131116_155802

It took us a few months to finish everything.  We both work full time, so most of the work on the shed was done on the weekends.  This is how it looked before I moved in.  Not too shabby for a storage shed, right?  🙂

20131116_155449

20131116_155543

Also, here’s the new door to our house.

20131201_165250

We still have to build the connecting deck, but need to finish painting the exterior of our house first.  (Yes, we are doing that ourselves too — sometimes I think we are idiots.)

So that’s the construction of Shedquarters.  The big reveal is next!   🙂

12 thoughts on “Shedquarters: Constructing a Storage Shed Studio

  1. Wow, that is just wow! I have serious sewing space envy. I however live in a tiny 2 bed apartment, with my husband and daughter. My intolerable “space” is the dining table, and no yard to expand into. Boohoo me, yay you!!!

  2. We just moved into a new house that has a “sewquarters” also! It looks a lot like yours too – in terms of coloring and trim. Mine’s not as nice, though. 😉 You both did an awesome job with everything!! I can’t wait to see how it looks once you’ve moved in with all your sewing supplies!

Leave a Reply

