Tip For Folding Up a Seam Allowance

Here’s a quick tip to make folding up seam allowances easier.  This may be a really obvious thing to do, so forgive me if I’m not covering new ground here.   I figured this out after giving myself a nasty steam burn with the iron, when I was trying to simultaneously measure, fold and evenly press up a seam allowance.

Tip - Folding Up Seam Allowance

1. Mark a “fold-to” line on wrong side of your fabric, that is double the width of your seam allowance.  In my example, my seam allowance is 5/8 inch, so I marked a line 1 1/4 inch from the edge of the fabric.

Tip - Folding Up Seam Allowance

2. Next, fold the edge of your fabric up to the line.

Tip - Folding Up Seam Allowance

3. Press.

Tip - Folding Up Seam Allowance

That’s it!

Tip - Folding Up Seam Allowance

Now you should have a perfectly even folded up seam allowance, and no toasty fingers.   🙂

3 thoughts on “Tip For Folding Up a Seam Allowance

Leave a Reply

