Completed: A Peony for The Sew Weekly Reunion

Back before I was a garment sewer, I followed The Sew Weekly. Sadly the project was abandoned at the end of last year.  But then along came the chance to sew along with The Sew Weekly Reunion, and I was in.

The Reunion challenge is to sew a garment from the Pantone Fall Color Palette.  Here’s what I came up with:
Sew Weekly Reunion Peony
Sew Weekly Reunion Peony
Sew Weekly Reunion Peony

The Facts

Fabric: The main fabric is a floral print stretch cotton sateen (From my Mood Fabrics shopping trip.)   The skirt is lined with white Bemberg rayon, and the facings/armhole bias tape is made with some plain white cotton sateen.

Notions: Regular zipper, embroidery floss for garment label.

Pantone Challenge colors: Acai and Vivacious

Pattern: Peony Dress by Colette Patterns. (Modified as follows: no sleeves, converted front skirt pleats to gathers, RTW belt in place of sewn belt.)

Year: Contemporary.  

Time to complete: About a week.

First worn: I plan to wear it to work next week.

Wear again? Absolutely.

Total Cost:  ??  Honestly, I don’t really care.  Wait, that sounds bad.  I do care about what I spend on sewing, and I don’t have an unlimited budget!!  But I worried about the price when I bought the fabric.  I determined it was in budget at that time.  After the initial purchase, I let go of thinking about the cost.  Otherwise, I get worried about “ruining” the fabric and then won’t sew it up.

Pantone Peony Details

Front

Pantone Peony Details

Back. I did a handpicked centered zipper.  Also my attempt to match the pattern worked out – woot!

Pantone Peony Details

Inside Front. Only the skirt is lined.

Pantone Peony Details

Inside back.

Pantone Peony Details

Inside back zipper and facing.

Pantone Peony Details

Inside front facing and armhole.  Armhole is finished with self-made bias tape.

Pantone Peony Details

The edge of the facings are finished with bias tape I made from the lining fabric.

Pantone Peony Details

Embroidered label.

This is my second Peony. (First one is here.)  I was running short on time to get this dress made before the deadline for the Reunion, so I wanted to make something that I knew already fit.  The fabric is the same as my first one (stretch cotton sateen) but for some reason this one turned out a little looser.  You can see a little puckering below the belt, which is the excess ease at the waist getting nipped in:

Sew Weekly Reunion Peony

Oh, well.  It’s comfy and was an easy sew.  A win – win, in my book!
Sew Weekly Reunion Peony

23 thoughts on “Completed: A Peony for The Sew Weekly Reunion

  1. Oh!!! I am so in love with your fabric choice! It looks like a beautiful modern painting. The colour, the huge splashes of purple flowers, gorgeous! And, the dress is very pretty too, I was surprised it was a beginner level. I cannot believe that you matched up the rather abstract floral print in the back. I’m actually gobsmacked. Stripes and plaids are one thing, but to match up a random pattern like that…….I bow to you. 🙂

    • Thanks! The dress isn’t difficult to sew, but it was hard to fit the first time I made it, the darts were all wrong for me and it took a while to get it to work. The trick to this pattern matching was cutting out the fabric in a single layer, rather than folding it in half like I usually do. That way I was able to carefully place the back bodice pieces exactly where I wanted them on the print. The skirt doesn’t match up as well because I didn’t have enough fabric to get the placement just right.

  2. I love that dress! I love the fabric and the placement of the design on the dress makes that fabric look like it was designed with that dress in mind. I love Colette patterns! What a great choice.

  3. Gorgeous!! It’s so pretty ~ you did such a beautiful job on it. I just discovered sateen and I really love that fabric – there’s so much you can do with it. I like how it looks as a dress.

  4. I love that fabric its so summery. It would look awesome for a wedding guest outfit or just for a day out. Very versatile and great attention to detail.

    xoxo
    misswednesdaysgirl.blogspot.co.uk

  5. Pingback: Mykonos Blue & Acai | The Sew Weekly Reunion

Leave a Reply

