Adding to the Arsenal

Recently I picked up a couple new gadgets that are really handy for buttonholes!  First, I got a set of chisels from the hardware store to use as buttonhole cutters.  I was looking at the ones made for sewing and realized it’s just a chisel.  So for a couple bucks, I got a set of four.  I’ve found the 1/4″ and 1/2″ inch ones are the most useful.
IMGP6667

I also got a Simflex Gauge.  This is a cool tool.  It takes the guesswork out of button placement, and is a lifesaver if you’re math-challenged, like I am!   (I noticed these are sold out at some online retailers, but I was able to find it on Amazon.)

IMGP6661

It’s especially handy if you’ve made changes to a pattern, and the buttonhole markings are no longer equal.  (Which is what happened to me when I did the SBA on my Hawthorn dress.)
IMGP6657
It’s got markings so you can accurately measure the distance from the edge of the fabric too.
IMGP6659

It can also be used to measure out perfectly equal pleats, shirring/smocking, and bias strips.  And when folded down, it’s not too big, so it’s easy to store.
IMGP6664

Have you discovered any great sewing notions lately?

7 thoughts on “Adding to the Arsenal

  1. Oh those are fabulous! I’ve recently tried out fusible stay tape, and it’s pretty nifty. However! !! Take care not to fuse it to the right side of your fabric by mistake. … Yes, I did this. Lol 🙂 I totally want the extendable buttonhole thingy.

  2. Good haul. I’m still in awe of air erasable markers. A simflex does appeal to me though. I’m scared of the chisels ruining my cutting mat or is there something else you’re supposed to put underneath? :-s

    • I just use the corner of my self-healing cutting mat. So far it hasn’t damaged it, the little cut it makes goes right back together. If you get a buttonhole cutter that’s sold for sewing, some of them are packaged with a very small cutting mat.

  3. That buttonhole guide looks like a handy tool. I might show it to my cousin who is crazy about mechano… it could be something he’d be able to create! New sewing aids? Well I had some Vilene edge tape delivered in the post on Saturday morning so I’m keen to test that out on necklines instead of stay stitching.

  4. OMG, I have to get that SimFlex tool! It’s just gone onto my amazon wish list, and may well end up in my cart then my hot little hands in pretty short order! Thanks so much for posting this!

Leave a Reply

