Pyjama Party: No Pattern Needed

It’s Pyjama Party time!   I missed out on the first one, so I was really excited when I saw that Karen was hosting another pajama sew along!  The sew along is based on Sewaholic’s new Tofino pajama pants, but any pattern is welcome.   So I decided to do something a little different and new to me.  I’m copying a pair of my RTW pajama pants.

Here’s the original pajamas.  They are a soft, lightweight cotton, and perfect for cooler summer nights.  I’ve literally worn these things to shreds.
IMGP6373

Look at that waistband.  Definitely time to replace them.
IMGP6375
IMGP6376

Since these were in such bad condition, I decided rip them apart, rather than try the rub-off method to copy them.  I unpicked the seams, and paid close attention to how the waistband was sewn.  (I was curious how that contrast fabric on the inside was put together.)  I probably could have just cut the seams apart, but I thought I’d get a more accurate pattern piece from seam ripping.
IMGP6389

Next I pressed my pieces flat.  Then, because the fabric was in such bad shape, I traced them onto paper. I marked the grain line (which was easy to determine from the old pajamas due to the pink stripes).  I also made a note of the seam allowances, and all other relevant markings, such as where to place the holes for the draw string.
IMGP6393

Here’s the finished pattern pieces.

IMGP6399

I’ve cut out my new fabric, and just need to sew these up. Hopefully I will have a new pair of favorite pj’s soon!

9 thoughts on “Pyjama Party: No Pattern Needed

  1. Very clever! I’m not sure I would have the guts to tear up my beloved pjs just in case I couldn’t replicate them perfectly. I hope it works out for you, then you will have created the perfect pj pattern which you can use forever.

    • Yep, that’s my hope too! I wasn’t too nervous about cutting these up, they were in such bad shape, I don’t think they would have even survived another trip through the wash.

  2. Ooh well done! Pjs are a perfect thing to do this with as they wear out so fast, lol! Awesome 🙂 I’m going to sewalong too 🙂

  3. Pingback: It’s a Pyjama Party!! | Purls and Pleats

  4. Pingback: Completed: More PJs | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

