Mad Men Challenge

Whew… finished my latest dress just in time for the Mad Men Challenge!
IMGP5281

My inspiration dress is this green Joan dress, and specifically that square neckline that I adore.

Mad-Men-Season-5-Cast-Photo-Joan-Harris-Christina-Hendricks-and-Lane-Pryce-Jared-Harris

I used Butterick 5032, which is a 1952 reprint pattern.  The fabric is a fairly thick cotton/poly sateen, in a bright plum that reminds me of the vibrant colored dresses from the show.  I’m really really happy with the finished result!  Will post more about the construction details soon.  (I ran out of light today before I had a chance to photograph the insides properly.)  [ETA: Link to more details/pics.]
1952 Dress

15 thoughts on “Mad Men Challenge

  1. Looks gorgeous. The bodice reminds me of Vogue 8723 which I made a while ago. i think I’m going to look for some plum fabric, you’re right, it’s really vibrant.

  2. Pingback: Details: Butterick 5032 (Mad Men Challenge Dress) | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

