Completed: Fingerless Gloves

I’m so excited, I made fingerless gloves!!
Fingerless Gloves

This little knitting project was a challenge for me.  My Dad had mentioned having difficulty finding a suitable pair of fingerless gloves, so I decided to knit him a pair.  No problem, I thought.  I looked up some patterns on Ravelry, and as I read through them, I just could not wrap my head around how to knit them, especially the fingers.  And, frankly, the thought of knitting such a small circumference was really daunting to me.  Then I saw that Craftsy had a class on knitting mittens and gloves.

I’ve heard a ton of good things about Craftsy, so I decided to give it a shot, and I bought the Mittens and Gloves Galore Class with Marly Bird.  It was perfect.  The class comes with   a customizable 5-in-1 pattern – you can make mittens, mitts, gloves, fingerless gloves, and convertable mittens or gloves.  And there are 4 other patterns, including one for lace mittens, cabled mitts (with an optional lining), thrummed gloves, and faux fair isle gloves.

I used the 5-in-1 pattern to make the fingerless gloves.  The pattern itself is well written.  But being able to watch Marly knit the fingerless gloves as she explains exactly what to do, was just what I needed!  As it turns out, gloves and mittens are not difficult to knit!!  Once I got started on these, they came together pretty quickly.

Mitts in Progress

My first pinkie finger. I was really excited at this point!

Mitts in Progress

Temporary stitches for the thumb.

The yarn I used is Cascade 220.  It’s an interesting mix of brown and gray, that I thought looked ‘manly’ but not entirely boring.  This is the first time I’ve used this yarn, and I really like it a lot, it’s feels pretty sturdy, but softened up after blocking.  My Ravelry notes are here.
Fingerless Gloves
Fingerless Gloves
Fingerless Gloves

I can definitely see myself making more mittens and gloves in the future!

3 thoughts on “Completed: Fingerless Gloves

  1. How lovely for your dad! I really like the Craftsy format, it has such great potential. Of course every class is its own beast, they’re not all guaranteed to be great. I’m glad yours worked so well for you! (I recently got a free trial of “fit your knits”, watched the whole thing, it’s not so great. very dumbed down.)

Leave a Reply

