Abby Dog

It’s been a rough weekend. Abby passed on Sunday. I miss her terribly, and even though we are heartbroken, we know she had a long and happy life.

I adopted Abby almost 16 years ago, when she was just 8 weeks old. I rescued her from the county dog pound in my hometown, which felt like a doggy jail, with it’s concrete floors and chain-link pens. It was hard place to visit, and I imagine a difficult place to live. She and her litter had been left on their doorstep in a cardboard box.
Fortunately, her rough start to life never got her down. The tiny bundle of fur I brought home in 1997, grew into a sweet, good-natured, and loving dog. And Abby had a dog-smile that could melt any heart.
Abby!
I’ve thought of different ways to honor Abby, and I think helping other animals in the community she came from feels right. Since the time I adopted Abby, a beautiful no-kill animal shelter has been opened in my hometown. If you would like to make a donation in Abby’s honor (and please feel absolutely no obligation to do so) please click here. (The link will take you directly to the shelter’s website, and any donations would go directly to them.)

Abby

In Loving Memory of Abby 1997 – 2013

8 thoughts on “Abby Dog

  1. So very sorry. She looks adorable in the photos like she was smiling. She had an amazingly long life and obviously a happy one as anyone would be if they were so loved.

  2. I’m sorry to hear that. My family’s going through that too now, as my parents’ beloved German shepherd was recently diagnosed with melanoma. She’s doing ok, but it’s basically a matter of months. (Of course, they just got a new puppy to make the transiton easier…) It’s still so hard to lose pets though.

Leave a Reply

