Completed: Colette Truffle #3

Long time, no posts and no finished projects.  But that’s changing now.  I’ve finally got a new dress to show off!  🙂

Here’s my latest version of the Truffle dress:

Truffle

Okay, so you may be thinking it doesn’t look much like the Truffle dress.  I know.  I made some changes to the pattern.  I left off the front drape, like my previous versions.  Then I redrafted the skirt to be straight, and added a vent at the back.
IMGP4357

I really like this pattern, I think it’s pretty versatile and for me, it was easy to fit. (Waaay easier than the Peony for sure! I’m still tweaking my muslin on that one.)  I’d recommend the Colette Sewing Handbook, just for this pattern alone.  Anyway, here are some more details:

The main fabric is just cheap poly, but I love the print.  It also has a slightly slubby texture that makes it look fancier than it really is.  I was careful to cut it out so that the black leaves  fell on one side of the dress.

IMGP4295

IMGP4300

It’s fully lined (in Ambiance Bemberg Rayon)
IMGP4311
IMGP4308

There’s a lot of hand stitching on this dress.  I did a hand-picked (or prickstitched) lapped zipper.  (This was my second go at this technique, and I really like it!)  And I slipstitched the lining to the zipper.
IMGP4302

I also added an embroidered label, and understitched my neckline and armholes by hand.
IMGP4299
IMGP4310

I sewed a vent for the first time too!  I drafted and sewed this according to Sunni’s tutorials.
IMGP4303
IMGP4304

I started this dress ages ago, and finally finished it up over the weekend.  I must say, I love it!  Only wish I had finished it sooner.

Truffle 3.1

26 thoughts on “Completed: Colette Truffle #3

    • The pick stitching is my favorite detail too! I was a bit sad to put my sweater on over the zipper this morning. Not that anyone would notice the zipper anyway. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Planning a Holiday Dress | Purls and Pleats

  2. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Purls and Pleats

  3. Pingback: Me Made May Week 3 & Tailored Jacket Update | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

