Back Home

Aloha!  I’m back from my Maui vacation, and it was wonderful.  Lots of sun, beaches, hiking, and relaxing.  Oh, and I even got some fabric shopping in!!

On our first day, we had a few hours to kill before we could check into our vacation rental.  Luckily, I found the perfect place to go – FabricMart!  I spied this shop as we were driving in from the airport.
2012-10-08 10.58.36

Mr. B indulged me and we stopped in and perused the isles of hawaiian print fabrics for over an hour. And let me tell you, this shop is literally stuffed with hawaiian prints.  They have every color and combo you can imagine.
Fabric Mart!
Fabric Mart

I left with just two cuts.  (Pretty good self control, right?)  I got this hawaiian print, that I’m planning to use for the Apron Along.
2012-10-07 08.17.22

And this Japanese print.
Japanese Fabric
They had a good selection of japanese cottons, in addition to all the hawaiian prints.  I especially liked this one because of the surfing ninjas!  I have no idea what I’ll do with this, but it was too unique to pass up.
2012-10-07 08.18.17
2012-10-07 08.18.25
2012-10-07 08.18.36

After shopping, we fell into full vacation mode.  Which for us, typically means tiring ourselves out!  Here’s some shots from the week:

Waihe'e Ridge Hike

Ridge Hike – We hiked into the clouds!

Waihe'e Ridge Hike

Ridge Hike

Sunset - Keawakapu Beach

Sunset at the beach

Kapalua Bay Beach - Snorkeling

Great snorkeling spot

Upcountry

Maui upcountry, on the way up the volcano

Cow in the Clouds

A Cow in the Clouds

Crater

View inside the crater

Sunset at the Volcano

Sunset from the volcano – afterwards we stargazed, and it was the most amazing experience.  I’ve never seen so many stars!

Malasadas

Mmm…Malasadas! My favorite Maui treat.

Hazel in Hawaii

Lounging in my Hazel dress at our pool. (The vacation rental had it’s own saline pool!)

And then when we were too tired to do much else, I got some knitting time in.
2012-10-03 16.42.52

Now that I’m back, I’ve got tons of projects planned.  The hardest part, is figuring out where to start.  Maybe tracing my Peony pattern for Sew Colette??

7 thoughts on “Back Home

  1. What a great fabric store. I was there 3 years ago and did not see this store. I just started sewing a few months after That vacation. I’d love to go back, and add this place as a must see! Good self-control on your part.

Leave a Reply

