Knitting Prep

I decided to cast on a new project for my plane ride tomorrow.  I had a shawl going, and was going to bring that.  But I realized this morning that I’d made a serious mistake and needed to frog the whole thing.  😦   After my last knitting fail, I decided to ditch the project before I wasted any more time on it!

So I started fresh with the Spring Trellis Shawl pattern, and some yummy brown lace yarn I found in my stash.  This is a charted lace pattern.

I prefer knitting lace from charts.  I find it is easier to keep my place and easier to follow along.  But sometimes I get mixed up when I look at the symbols, and read them incorrectly.  So whenever I start a new pattern, I prep it by getting out my colored pencils.  I’ve found I can easily remember that green means K2tog!

Knit Prep

Knit Prep
After I colored my charts, I got out my “swift” and wound my yarn.  I’ve thought of getting a real swift, but I rather like my Tinkertoys.
2012-09-30 14.53.38

Then I cast on the first itty bit, and now I’m all set to go!

2012-09-30 16.53.22

4 thoughts on “Knitting Prep

  1. Pingback: Completed: Fall Trellis Shawl | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

