Completed: Vacation Skirts

Tonight was my trouser sewing class.  We were set to work on tissue fitting our patterns.  It would have been a whole lot more helpful if I had remembered to bring my pattern peices!  I was in a rush this morning and shot out the door without them.  So unfortunately I don’t have any insights to share on the trouser front.  😦

But I do have a couple more finished projects!  Mr. B and I are going to Hawaii for vacation next week.  So I wanted to make some quick, comfy skirts for the trip.  I was thinking lightweight, zipper-free, and something that can easily get tossed over a swimsuit.  Here’s the first one:
skirt
It’s just a really simple elastic waistband skirt.  I didn’t use a pattern, I just cut two pieces of fabric that were 1.5 times my waist measurement, by the length I wanted, plus 2 1/2 inches for the waistband and hem.  There are lots of tutorials online for elastic waistband skirts.  I found these two helpful: Elastic Waist Skirt Tutorial – Mama Edition and How to Make an Elastic Waistband Skirt

After I had the elastic in place, I sewed two lines of stitching through the casing and the elastic to prevent it from rolling or folding over.  I got the idea from my gym shorts!  I stretched the elastic as I sewed over it, so that the waistband would stay nice and stretchy and fit over my hips.  Pulling the elastic and sewing was a little tricky at first, and my stitching isn’t exactly even, but I’m not getting hung up on it.
skirt waistband

When the skirt was done, I felt it looked a little too plain.  So I added a some embroidery to one corner.  The design came from the Hoop Love Vintage Transfers group on Flickr.

skirt embroidery
skirt embroidery

The second skirt is actually a refashion.  I had this dress/coverup thing that I never wore because the top didn’t fit right, and it was super short on me.

refashion

So I hacked off the bodice . . .
refashion

and then sewed a piece of 2 inch wide flat elastic to the skirt.
refashion

I love the result.  The skirt is really comfy, was a super easy to do, and I know I’ll get a lot more use out of it now.
refashion
This was also my first refashion.  I see more of these in my future!

6 thoughts on “Completed: Vacation Skirts

  1. Pingback: Me Made May Week 3 & Tailored Jacket Update | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

