Completed: Boat Curtains

Remember way back in July, when I mentioned I was going to make some boat curtains for my Dad.  Well, they are finally done!
Completed Curtains
Completed Curtains

I think they turned out pretty good.  They’re not perfect, some of my stitching is a little wonky.  How hard can it be to sew in a straight line?  Well, pretty hard apparently.  (Actually, I think my machine was having difficulty sewing through the the snap tape and multiple layers of fabric.)  Still these are miles above the old ‘flip-flop’ ones.
Curtains before and after

The most difficult part was figuring out how to construct them.  I got some ideas from my 1970’s Reader’s Digest Complete Guide to Sewing.
2012-09-02 18.46.19

The end of this book has several home decor projects.  The funniest one is this one for a boy’s room.  Anyone else just see boob pillows?
2012-09-02 18.47.52

Anyway, back to boat curtains.  I started with a tiny practice curtain.  Kind of curtain muslin, if you will.
Tiny practice curtain

I did something new with this project, I used my serger to actually sew my seams.  I’ve only ever used the serger to finish seams, mostly because it still scares me!  It worked really well and was super quick.
Curtains in progress
Curtains in progress

I got a lot of practice with my point turner too.
Point turners rock

These are lined, and the snap tape was reclaimed from the old curtains.
Completed Curtains
Completed Curtains

My favorite part is that I managed to line up the print, so this is how the curtains will look when they are closed:
Completed Curtains - Matched up Print!

So now that these are done, it’s time to get my Simplicity 2703 dress finished.  It just needs a zipper and hem!

12 thoughts on “Completed: Boat Curtains

  1. Looks wonderful and I know your Dad will love them on his sailboat. I hope he doesn’t sink it and loose such professional work and all the time you spent on the curtains.

  2. Pingback: Boat Curtains in Action | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

