Slow Progress

It’s been quiet around this little blog lately, sorry about that. We had a spell of hot weather, and since my house doesn’t have air conditioning, it’s been unbearable to work in my sewing room. So my latest make has been slow going, and I haven’t really had anything to share. Luckily it’s starting cooling off.

Right now I’m making Simplicity 2703. I finished the muslin a while back, but then got sidetracked and made my second Hazel. Now that I’ve picked this dress up again, I’m finding I don’t exactly remember all the changes I made. Oops! 😦

I don’t have much to show yet. I’m only on the lining.
Slow start

Do you sew your lining first, or your main fabric? I don’t know if it makes a difference or not. Usually I sew my main fabric first, but this time I decided to change it up and go lining first.  Livin’ on the edge here.  🙂

Since I haven’t been sewing much, I’ve been distracting myself with other things. I recently got on Instagram.  (I know, I’m way late to the party on this.)  It’s kinda neat, I think. My username is MarrieB, if you want to check mine out.

Well, that’s all I’ve got today. Hopefully this weekend will be a productive one!!

5 thoughts on “Slow Progress

    • I’ve learned it saves me a lot of frustration down the line. But it is time consuming and sometimes I really want to race ahead and just cut into my pretty fabric!

  1. I usually sew the lining second, but have been thinking about switching it up!

    I’m on Instagram too: misscrayolacreepy
    Going to look for you now…

  2. I usually sew the lining first, but I don’t know why! One time I sewed it first, and felt so clever that i could use that lining as a muslin to check the fit… and then I never did it in that order again! 😛

  3. Pingback: Completed: Boat Curtains | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

