Sweater Knitting: Will it Fit?

I’ve been very slowly knitting my Audrey sweater.  Actually my progress has come to a near stand still because I don’t know if it’s going to fit me and I don’t want to waste my time knitting something I can’t wear.  So this morning when I saw Catherine’s comment, asking what size I’m making, it prompted me to get the sweater out and actually try it on.

As I’ve lamented before, trying this on isn’t all that easy since it’s knit from the bottom up.   Here’s what it looks like right now:

Audrey

I was right in between the size 32 and 34.  The pattern said it was meant to have up to 1″ of negative ease, so I decided to go with size 32.  Now I feel like I should have gone with the 34.  I think it pulls across the bust a little more than I’d like.  I don’t know if I will be able to comfortably wear this buttoned up, which is what I was hoping for.  But this isn’t blocked, and I will be adding the center button bands.  So it may work out just fine.  I guess I should carry on.

12 thoughts on “Sweater Knitting: Will it Fit?

  1. Wow, thanks for the pic! I think with the bands on, it will work out fine. It’s looking good.
    I like to only do the buttons up at the top only, and quite like cardis that fit snuggly across the bust. Mmmmm, not sure what size to do, am edging towards the smaller size and trust the negative ease works. You have been a big help…thanks Marie!

  2. I think this looks like it won’t fit badly. To me it doesn’t look like it’s super tight, and the button bands will help! You can even get sneaky and knit the button bands wider if you feel you need it! I say keep on going and it will all turn out! 🙂

  3. I decided to knit the 34. Am just finishing the bask – never thought that bout would end. Can’t wait to get to the lace bit.

  4. Pingback: Ravellenic Games 2012 | Purls and Pleats

  5. Pingback: Me Mad May – Week Two | Purls and Pleats

  6. Pingback: Completed: Audrey Sweater | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

