A Busy Week Roundup

Whew, it’s been a busy week.  Unfortunately I haven’t finished anything, but I’ve got all kinds of ideas floating around in my head.  🙂

Let’s start with some new fabric shots.
Fabric
Fabric

I found all of this on the clearance table, so of course it had to come home with me.  I’m super excited about that fabric on the top – it’s a knit!  I’ve only worked with knit fabric once, when I made a pair of pajamas.  This time I want to try a dress.  The fabric on the bottom may become my Hazel.

Earlier this week my iron died after 12+ years of service.  I have a crush on my new one.  It’s so shiny!

New Iron

And this week my pattern drafting class met twice!  We did a lot of work with princess seams – which I love – so I was thrilled to learn more about them.

We started with our basic block again.

Basic Block

This is what it would look like if it was sewn up:
Basic Block

Then we traced the block onto tissue paper and started cutting and taping.  The first design we made was the shoulder princess.
shoulder princess

Here’s what the pattern pieces look like:
Shoulder Princess

Next we made an armhole princess design.  The difference is obviously that the seam runs from the waist to the armhole, instead of from the waist to the shoulder.
Armhole Princess
Armhole Princess

Here’s a slight variation of the Armhole princess seam.
Armhole Princess Variation
Armhole Princess Variation

After that we started playing around with adding fullness to the bodice.  Here I made a skinny yoke, with gathering around the neck.
Added Fullness
Added Fullness Around Neck

It amazes me that all these different patterns started out from the exact same block.  Hopefully over the next few weeks I will have time to sew up some of these patterns and see how they look.

5 thoughts on “A Busy Week Roundup

  1. Oh my goodness, this is so cool. I love that last one, it looks super complicated though! All that slashing!! I would love to learn how to do this stuff!

  2. Those bodice manipulations are so cool! I’m really intrigued by the last two. I’m also very interested to see what you make with your knit fabric!

  3. Wow! I love your fabric choices, and the pattern drafting is so cool! Thanks for documenting it all for us! I like looking at your different patterns and trying to guess just how each change was made.

  4. This class looks so neat! After seeing your posts I did some searching online for something similar in my neck of the woods. No luck;-(

Leave a Reply

