Tagless Garment Labels

Yesterday I said I’d share how I incorporated some embroidery into my latest project.  So to make good on my promise, here it is:

Embroidered Tag

Very simple, I know.  It’s just a small monogram embroidered into the back of my dress to serve as a “tagless” garment label.  I’ve been wanting to buy or make some personalized tags, but haven’t gotten around to it yet.  Then when I starting thinking about how I might include some embroidery into my projects, I thought why not make a tag?  First, I considered embroidering a separate piece of fabric and then sewing it in.  But then I thought why not just embroider straight onto my lining?  So that’s what I did.  Here’s how I did it.

First thing to note – I embroidered my lining before I did any sewing.  I looked at a couple of my finished dresses, and decided it would be too difficult to add the embroidery after the dress was constructed.

1. Find the design you want to embroider.  There are so many options!  You could buy iron-on transfers, like this booklet:

Untitled

Or, hit the internet.  Some sites I like and/or found helpful are:

Sublime Stitching – Has really cute designs.

Hoop Love Vintage Transfers Flickr Group – A nice collection of free vintage templates.

Needle’N’Thread – Another source of free templates and a good embroidery resource overall.

Free Printable Stencils – Free Alphabet templates (I found my design here).

2. Cut out lining pieces and stay stitch the neckline.  (This is important.  It will help avoid distorting the neckline when you put the fabric in the embroidery hoop – plus it’s a good idea to always stay stitch anyways!)

3.  Transfer your image to your fabric.  There are different ways to do this.  Sublime Stitching and Needle’N’Thread discuss different methods.  For this project, since the dress lining was a dark color, but also thin, I used the low tech “window method.”

4.  I printed out my design onto plain white paper, and taped it to my window.
Embroidered Tag

5. Then I taped my lining piece on top of that, and traced the design with a white marking pencil.  (This is my soap stone pencil, which is my favorite white marking tool, btw.)
Embroidered Tag

A note about placement – make sure you leave enough room for your seam allowances, and make sure you transfer your design onto the right side of the fabric.
Embroidered Tag

6. After your design is traced, carefully place the fabric in the embroidery hoop and stitch away.  The Needle’N’Thread website has a great list of Tips and Techniques, and has several videos of different embroidery stitches.  I used the easy and beginner friendly backstitch.

Embroidered Tag

7. After your done, you’re ready to sew up your garment as usual.
Embroidered Tag

8. And voila!  You now have an easy, custom, tagless garment label!
Embroidered Tag

6 thoughts on “Tagless Garment Labels

  1. Ooh that’s more than a little smart! Cool idea! 😀 Love your soapstone pencil btw, that sounds fancy. haha 🙂
    This looks super neat 🙂

  2. Pingback: Summer Spark Sew Along: Licorice Dress #2 | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

