Audrey Sweater Update

So I’ve been plugging along very slowly on my Audrey sweater.  All this sewing has really been cutting into my knitting time.  🙂  Anyway, here’s my progress to date:

Audrey Progress

This is the first time I’ve knitted a sweater from the bottom-up, and I don’t know if I like it.  I feel like I have more control when I knit top-down because I can try things on as I go, and check the fit and make adjustments.  With this one, I worry about how the length is going to turn out.  I know that it should be fine, assuming my gauge stays consistent.

Also, I kind of miss getting to try on a half-knit sweater.  For some reason there is some satisfaction in that for me, and it motivates me to keep knitting.  With this I can hold it around my waist, but it’s just not the same.

If you knit sweaters, which to you prefer, bottom-up or top-down?

6 thoughts on “Audrey Sweater Update

  1. I’m not a knitter, but I can imagine it’s awkward knitting in that direction! Kinda like dresses where the side seam is the last seam… it’s so hard to wait until you are done to know if it fits!

  2. I haven’t even completed my first yet, but I’m nearly finished my first- a top down! There are some bottom ups on my want-to-make list, and I’ve been thinking about how weird that will be. Imagine knitting all the way to find heartbreak at the top! Nooooo!

  3. Pingback: Sweater Knitting: Will it Fit? | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

