Sew Colette 2.0: Hazel Muslin

I finished my Hazel muslin.  Or at least the first draft of it.  I’ve got some fit issues I need to work out, and will probably make another muslin before cutting into my final fabric.  Which is fine because I still don’t know what fabric I’m going to use!

Here’s version 1.0.  The fits is okay.

Hazel Muslin

I think I will do a small SBA, and adjust the darts.  I also need to take in the side seams a bit, since the bodice feels a little loose there.  And I’m going to cut a bigger skirt.  After wearing the muslin around the house for while, I realized it could benefit from a little more ease across the back side.  The question is do I straight cut a larger size, or stick with my waist size and grade out to the bigger size.  With the gathering, I’m assuming it would work to just cut a bigger skirt?   But I don’t want too much gathering.

My main complaint is that I feel like the bodice sits too low across the chest, and it looks like it’s just hanging off of me, as you can see here:

Hazel Muslin 2

I can cinch it up with the straps, but then the waist sits too high.  And it already feels a bit high in the waist.  Plus that really throws the darts off.  I think I might add some extra fabric across the top of the front bodice pieces, and see if that fixes things.

Also, I’ve got to do something about the strap placement.  I’d like to keep my bra straps from peeking out and saying “hello!”  I might try making wider straps.

Oh fitting — does it ever get easier???

9 thoughts on “Sew Colette 2.0: Hazel Muslin

  1. It looks to me like you need to keep your skirt size the same & go down a size in the bodice because you’re roomy all over in the bodice AND the bodice length is too long. I think that would fix your fit. Good luck!

  2. All things considered it doesn’t look too bad! 🙂 Looking forward to see how your improvements change it. I think the idea of making it a touch smaller is good…

    • Thanks. I get super critical at the muslin stage, which is what it’s for, I suppose. But sometimes I go too far and think “Ugg I hate this and shouldn’t bother making the final dress.”

  3. I think it looks good – but sounds like you have lots of ideas for how to make it better! I always find it hard to wrap my head around how to adjust patterns that are bog-standard bodice/skirt shapes… I stare at the hazel and can’t quite figure out how I’d make it shorter or longer or larger or smaller! 🙂 Good luck!

  4. Pingback: A Busy Week Roundup | Purls and Pleats

  5. Pingback: Sew Colette 2.0 – Hazel Dress | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

