Sew Colette – Licorice Dress

My final project for Sew Colette is done – The Licorice Dress.

Licorice Dress
Licorice Back View
Licorice Side View

As you can see, I was heavily influenced by the polka dot version of the dress in the book. But I decided to make mine without the collar or the sleeves.  I did that partly because I thought it would make the project sew up faster, and partly because I didn’t feel like the sleeves really worked for me and I didn’t want to figure out how to modify them.  I’m really happy with the result.

I made this dress out of a 100% Rayon shirting that I got from Fabric.com.  This was my first foray into purchasing fabric online, and I’m pleased with the result.  The fabric has a nice drape, yet was easy to work with.  It’s light and comfortable to wear, but it does wrinkle a little.  I lined the dress with Bemberg Rayon.  I’ve found it’s getting easier for me to work with this stuff.  I highly recommend it if you are looking for a nice lining fabric.  It’s soft against the skin and breathes nicely.

IMGP3196

IMGP3198

I also made a belt out of the garment fabric, but I think I like the way my black ribbon looks better.
Licorice Belt Collage

I feel a great sense of accomplishment, having worked through all five of the patterns in The Colette Handbook.  If it were not for the sew along, I honestly don’t know if I would have even tried some of these projects.  I want to thank Sarah and Erin for hosting Sew Colette and everyone else who was so supportive along the way.  I thoroughly enjoyed sharing the journey through The Handbook with you, and I  hope to see you around the internets again soon!

10 thoughts on “Sew Colette – Licorice Dress

  1. You can maybe use the polka dot sash on something else 🙂 Also I keep hearing good things about Bemberg Rayon but I don’t know if anyone sells it in NZ.. I’m sure they do, I just don’t know where to look!

  2. I hope you can find some, it really is nice stuff. It’s kind of hard to work with because it’s slippery, but I think it’s worth the trouble. I’ve seen it online, maybe that would be an option? 🙂

  3. Pingback: Summer Spark Sew Along: Licorice Dress #2 | Purls and Pleats

  4. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Purls and Pleats

  5. Pingback: Me Made May – Week One Down | Purls and Pleats

  6. Pingback: Completed: Gertie’s Portrait Blouse & Bonus Sorbetto | Purls and Pleats

  7. Pingback: Completed: Licorice Dress With a Wild Side | Purls and Pleats

  8. Pingback: Completed: Spotty Licorice Dress | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

