Follow-Up Notes on Taffy

Jo kindly commented on my Taffy blouse, and also inquired about my pattern alterations.  I thought a couple of pictures might assist in explaining what I did.  I apologize in advance if this is mostly gibberish.  My sewing vocabulary is still somewhat limited.  🙂

First, I followed ircabbit’s second suggestion posted here, and brought the neckline in.  Here’s a picture of my pattern alteration, front and back:

Taffy Alteration

Taffy Alteration Front

Taffy Alteration Back

The red line indicates the original cutting line.  I added some paper, and traced a new neckline using a french curve, and tried to follow the shape of the original line as much as possible.  (Do you like my ghetto painter’s tape?  I ran out of regular tape.)

I cut out my pieces with this alteration only.  Then I pinned them together and realized that the shoulder line (where the sleeve would be attached to the bodice) was sitting too far off my shoulders.  To remedy that, I drew a new shoulder line right on my fabric pieces with chalk.  Again, I tried to mirror the original cutting line.  Then I cut off the excess.  Unfortunately I don’t have a picture of this second alteration.  Basically, the alteration looked something like this:  (Imagine the green line is the new line I drew and cut along.)

I didn’t change the sleeves at all.

2 thoughts on “Follow-Up Notes on Taffy

  1. Wowsers, your pattern alterations pretty much look exactly like mine though! Haha,
    I didn’t alter my sleeves either but it meant the curves didn’t line up and I had to do some dodgy overlapping of seam allowances, since my new shoulder seam line was now longer.. Did you have this issue?

    • Not really, everything lined up okay, but I do feel like the top is a little snug around the arm seams. Maybe I should have changed the sleeves too, but I’m not sure how exactly I would have done it. 🙂 I’m really happy with the fit anyway, especially since I didn’t make a muslin.

Leave a Reply

