Sew Colette – Planning Taffy

So, I decided that I am going to give Taffy a try.  At first, I wasn’t sure about this pattern.  But yesterday I ran across the perfect fabric, and now I’m getting excited to make it.

Taffy Fabric

Taffy Fabric Detail

I know I should make a muslin, but I am going to be a bad kid and just dive right into the pattern.  I think I paid maybe $3 for my fabric, so it doesn’t seem cost effective.  And besides, I don’t have any similarly drapey fabric to use for a muslin anyway.  From what I’ve read, the neck is pretty wide, so I plan to follow one of ircabbit’s suggestions and alter the neckline.

Unrelated to Sew Colette, I finally finished a simple skirt I’ve been working on for a while.

Skirt Front

I don’t know why it took me so long to finish it.  I think the gray fabric is just not inspiring.  However, I should get a lot of wear out of this at work.  I’m sure this skirt will be making an appearance or two during my Me-Made-May challenge.

I used McCall’s 3830 and added a waistband in lieu of the facings.  I also added a lining.  And I think my hand hemming improved a tiny bit.  🙂

Skirt Back

Hem

Leave a Reply

