Colette Handbook Meringue Skirt

As promised, some more details on my Sew Colette projects.  First up, Meringue.

I decided to make my Meringue without the scallops.  I’ve got nothing against them, but I really needed a simple black skirt for work, and thought I would get more use out of it if it was plain. I also followed this tutorial, and added a waistband.

I started with a muslin.  The fit was okay, except for the puff of extra fabric across the front.  (There was also a little extra in the back just below the waistband)

Meringue Muslin

To fix that, I pinned out the excess fabric:

Meringue Muslin Pinned

But then I struggled to figure out how to transfer the alteration to my pattern pieces.  Sarah from Rhinestones & Telephones had a great idea, and suggested that I take my muslin apart and use my muslin pieces as my new pattern pieces.  Brilliant!

I also decided to add a lining to my skirt.  It was a little bit tricky to add the lining with the waistband and zipper, and honestly, I don’t remember exactly what I did.  There was a lot of pinning and checking, and re-pinning and re-checking, then I just stuck it under the machine and went for it.  I think it turned out pretty good!

Meringue Lining

Despite making a muslin, the final skirt is just okay to me.

Meringue Skirt

It’s a tad tighter than my muslin, and the front wrinkle showed up again, although not as prominently.  It doesn’t look too bad in this picture, but that’s because I was trying really hard to stand so the wrinkle wasn’t as noticeable.  🙂  The other problem is that I made this out of a cheap polyester.  Mistake.  I have a sneaking suspicion that might be why the wrinkle came back.  Lesson learned — use decent fabric, or be sad.

One thought on “Colette Handbook Meringue Skirt

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

