Hello!

Hello World!  {Waves}

I’ve long been inspired and encouraged by the fabulous online knitting and sewing community.  So I decided it was time to carve out my own little spot and start this blog.  I generally consider myself more of a knitter, but recently sewing has crept its way into my heart.  I expect this blog to be mostly about either knitting or sewing, but I’ve been known to bake a mean cookie every now and again, so I may toss that in the mix too.  🙂

So where does one start with a project like this?  Perhaps a little background.  Here’s a short history of my craft-life:

About 12 years ago I went on a long road trip.  I needed something to keep myself occupied, so I bought some lime green yarn, straight needles, and a “how to knit” book.  I made a few ugly scarves, but never really pushed myself beyond the knit and purl stitch.  I thought it would be too hard to do anything “fancy.”  Then life got busy and I set down my needles.

Fast forward to 4 years ago.  I made a major career move, found myself with a bit of free time, and picked up knitting again.  I found Ravelry and got inspired, and found knittinghelp.com and picked up some new skills.  With a bit of patience and after a lot of frogging, I fell in love.

Then a couple years ago, I got my first sewing machine for Christmas.  I grew up watching my mom sew, and I had high hopes for myself to follow in her footsteps.  I fumbled around with making a few items, but was never satisfied with my work.  I’d rush through a project, take sloppy shortcuts, and end up unhappy and frustrated.

But recently, something clicked with sewing.  I figured out that if I slow down and enjoy the whole process, I like what I end up with.  That’s where I am at now.  Falling in love with sewing and trying to learn as much as I can.

2 thoughts on “Hello!

  1. Just worked my way through your blog- you make lovely stuff! I’m looking forward to seeing your knitting. I’m a beginner and I’m making my first cardigan- by chance you have already made it! The Miette you have made in yellow! It looks lovely 🙂 I hope mine turns out that well 🙂
    Also- those Christmas stockings? Amazing! I love them!

  2. I really enjoy reviewing your projects, please keep working hard on them for all of us. I do hope your Dad remembered your Anniversary, if not he is just stupid!

Leave a Reply

