Tutorial: Sewing Machine Cover

My sewing machine doesn’t have a cover.  When I sat down to sew today I noticed just how dusty my machine is getting.  So I decided it was time to make one.

To make a cover, you will need:  Fabric, tape measure, ruler, marking tool, and thread.

I used some left over scrap fabric from my ironing board cover.  I think I used about a yard.

1. Measure your sewing machine.

Measure the Height (Green Line) Length (Blue Line) and Width (Yellow Line) of your machine.  My measurements were 17 x 13 x 8.

Machine Cover Tutorial

Machine Cover Tutorial

2. Cut your fabric.

Add 1″ to each measurement (This will give you a 1/2″ seam allowance).

Cut 5 pieces, using the following measurements:

Top – Length x Width
Front and Back – Length x Height
2 Sides – Width x Height

Machine Cover Tutorial

The top drawing represents the size of my cover. The bottom squares represent the fabric pieces I cut.

**Note:  On my front and back pieces, I didn’t have a large enough piece of fabric to cut the size I needed.  So I simply sewed to rectangles together to get a big enough piece.

Measure and Cut.

Machine Cover Tutorial

3. Lay our your pieces.

Lay your pieces out as shown.  The top piece is placed in the center.
Machine Cover Tutorial

4.  Measure and mark 1/2″ at each corner of the top piece.
Machine Cover Tutorial
Machine Cover Tutorial

5.  Sew front and back pieces to the top piece.

Sew with right sides together.  Start and stop sewing at the 1/2 inch marks!

Machine Cover Tutorial

Start.

Machine Cover Tutorial

Stop.

This is how it will look when you are done:
Machine Cover Tutorial

6. Sew side pieces to the top piece.

With right sides together pin side piece to the top.
Machine Cover Tutorial

Fold the seam allowance back and out of the way, so that you are only sewing the top and side piece together.

Machine Cover Tutorial

Fold the seam allowance (from the previously sewn seam) back, as indicated by the arrow.

Machine Cover Tutorial

Seam allowance is pinned out of the way.

Again, you will stop and start sewing at the 1/2 marks. This is how it should look after you sew the seam:

Machine Cover Tutorial

The seams should meet in the corner, 1/2″ from the edges

7.  Sew side seams.

You will now sew down the corner seams.
Machine Cover Tutorial

Align edges (marked with pink lines) and pin. At the top, fold the corner of the top piece back, so that it is out of the way.  See the pink arrow below.
Machine Cover Tutorial

Here’s a close up.  The seam I am going to sew is pinched between my fingers.
Machine Cover Tutorial

That little corner piece will naturally fold in and away as you pinch the edges together.
Machine Cover Tutorial

Sew.  This time start and stop sewing at the edges of the fabric.
IMGP3989

8. Voila!  You have made your first corner.

IMGP3993

Repeat three more times.

9. Hem the bottom and Enjoy a less dusty machine!
IMGP3997

15 thoughts on “Tutorial: Sewing Machine Cover

  1. Thanks for the tutorial! I bookmarked it but being honest, I will probably never get around to it… lol! Well, never say never… It would be a good excuse to buy some cute quilting cotton, lol :)

  2. Pingback: 12.18.2012 holiday fun, rock n roll marathon, girl meets sewing machine (again!) | Ware is the Vodka?!?

  3. This looks great. I like that you have five separate pieces instead of the 3 pieces the plastic one I bought years ago has. I plan to embroider the front with a cute quilting saying/picture and then make the cover. Thanks!

      • It’s almost done. . . Just need to iron and hem.. Unfortunately I used a drapery lining fabri which is not as tightly woven as quilting toto so it is a bit soft.” But it does look cute with the embroidery. Easy to sew together with your good directions. B

  4. Pingback: Mais de 40 links para você começar a costurar! | Mulher Vitrola

  5. I noticed the same problem with my machine. I have it on the desk in my dining room so I have quick access. I thought I could use the fabric I have on my seat covers and it will co-ordinate nicely! Thanks for the tutorial I am going to have a go. Never tried corners like that before, so will include a new technique for me.
    Thanks.

  6. this was my very first project! its not perfect – far from it, but i am super proud! thanks for such a great tutorial :)

  7. Thanks for a great tutorial – really easy to understand instructions and clear photo steps. I particularly liked your explanation of drawing a half inch square in the corners as guides – I have always struggledvwith geting boxed corners to match! Thanks!

  8. Looking forward to making this. Really impressed with your clear pictures and instructions. Hope the corners turn out like yours as have never tried this. Thanks

  9. Great tutorial, I am going to have to make one! = )
    Could you tell me what kind of fabric pen you are using? Every one I have tried doesn’t show up on the fabric very well. The one you are using looks great! If you could tell me where you got it, that would be fantastic!
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

