Summer Spark Sew Along: Licorice Dress #2

Whew, I finished my latest dress just in time for the Summer Spark Sew Along.   I was so happy with my first Licorice dress, that decided to make another version.  But this one gave me some troubles.

Licorice Version 2

Actually, I almost gave up on this dress.   I chose a very lightweight cotton/nylon blend fabric, that has the slightest stretch.  I thought it would make a nice cool summer dress that would still be work appropriate.  But this stuff was a nightmare!  It wrinkles.  It puckers. It frayes.  It slips.  It melts.  Did I mention it wrinkles?  Seriously, it’s so bad that I feel like I won’t want to wear it much.  Oh well.  It’s done.

My first problem was the invisible zipper.  I had a really bad bump at the bottom of the zipper.  To get around it, I ended up hand sewing the seam below the zipper for about 1 1/2 inches.  It’s better, but not great.  You can still see it.  :(  My invisible zippers are never as nice as I want them, I think the next time I put one in I’m going to try a new technique. Licorice Zipper Bump

The next problem was the length of the dress.  For some reason this dress turned out too short.  I have no idea how it happened, I used the same pattern pieces as my last Licorice.   Not that I am against short, but I wanted to wear this to work.  So I added an extra band of fabric at the bottom.  Maybe it looks weird?  I haven’t decided yet.  For now, I’m calling it a “design detail.”

IMGP3576

Okay, enough about the problems.  Here’s what I LIKE about the dress – the lining!  Of course, it’s Bemberg Rayon again, in this most luscious purple!  Maybe I should wear the dress inside out – ha!

IMGP3591

IMGP3589

I understitched the neckline and armholes by hand.
IMGP3593

And there’s my tagless garment label!!

IMGP3585
IMGP3582

Finally, I made a matching belt.  But I didn’t feel like following the pattern directions, because I don’t like trying to turn a skinny tube of fabric.  Instead I folded each side over about 1/4 inch and then folded the belt in half and stitched down all four sides.

IMGP3599

Licorice Version 2 front

In the end, I still love this pattern, even though my fabric choice let me down.  And if I can get past its flaws, I know I will be cool and comfy wearing this dress throughout the summer.

15 thoughts on “Summer Spark Sew Along: Licorice Dress #2

  1. I think the band you added to the bottom is actually a really pretty detail! Sorry to hear your fabric was such a pain to work with. That would drive me nuts!!
    In the end you got a really sweet garment out of it! :)

    • Thanks! Ya, I almost gave up on the fabric. At one point I thought about taking the dress apart and re-using the lining with a new main fabric. Then I decided that was too much work! I think this will be okay, and I’ll be wearing a sweater over it at work anyway, so some of the imperfections that bug me will be covered up. :)

  2. I like the band you added at the bottom too – makes it different from your other version. Plus that libing is amazing! And I know how you feel about invisible zippers – mine never turn out particularly great either.

  3. Looks georgous. I love the hem detail – I was looking at the first photo wondering how you managed it.
    I get that bump at the bottom with the zippers too! Thought it was just me!

  4. You always do such beautiful details – the hand understitching, the monogram, the purple Bemburg – It’s a great dress! If the fabric was frustrating, I say give it another try in something different. Like you, I really like the “bones” of the Licorice dress!

  5. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Purls and Pleats

  6. Pingback: Me Mad May – Week Two | Purls and Pleats

  7. Pingback: Completed: Licorice Dress With a Wild Side | Purls and Pleats

Leave a Reply

